Regional Planning

Baltimore is the core city of the federally designated Baltimore Urban Area Security Initiative, which is comprised of the cities of Baltimore and Annapolis and the counties: Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Carroll, Harford, and Howard.

Representatives from each jurisdiction comprise the Baltimore Urban Area Homeland Security Work Group (UAWG).

Cal Bowman serves as the chairman of the UAWG and MOEM provides administrative support for the UASI program.

emergency services truck

This group meets on a monthly basis and engages in sustained regional planning to ensure that response and recovery are coordinated across jurisdictional boundaries.

Since its establishment in 2003, the UAWG has developed innovative, interoperable security and response systems through the work of its functional subcommittees, which include:

  • Backup 911 and Dispatch
  • Backup Power
  • Central Maryland Area Radio Communications
  • Wireline Interoperability
  • Closed Circuit Television
  • Emergency Planning
  • Hazardous Materials
  • Information Technology
  • Law Enforcement
  • Maritime Response
  • Public Education (External Link)
  • Public Health & Emergency Medical Services
  • Urban Search & Rescue (External Link)
  • Volunteer Activities
  • Mobile Command Units